
Above Ground Pool Cost: Prices, Installation and What to Budget
Above ground pool cost in 2026 runs about $1,010 to $5,967 installed (Angi) or $1,600 to $7,500 (HomeGuide). Leveling, a deck, a fence, a heater and power to the pump are usually priced on top.
- ✓Above ground pool cost, kit onlyHomeGuide puts the pool itself at $800 to $4,500 and labor at $800 to $3,000.
- ✓Extras that beat the kitAngi's 2026 ranges: fence $1,500 to $10,000, deck $1,000 to $5,000, heater $1,800 to $4,200.
- ✓Checked against federal dataImport duties from USITC, recalls from CPSC, power use from EIA, water from 25 city rate schedules.
Above ground pool cost in 2026: four estimates side by side
Published estimates agree that most installed above-ground pools land under $8,000, but they disagree on where the middle sits.
Angi’s 2026 guide gives an installed range of $1,010 to $5,967, then a slightly different $1,023 to $5,840 a few lines lower on the same page, so treat either as a rounded band rather than a precise figure (Angi, updated July 8, 2026). HomeGuide’s range is higher, $1,600 to $7,500, around a $4,500 national average, with a $1,000 floor and a $20,000 ceiling (HomeGuide). River Pools, a fiberglass pool manufacturer, quotes $4,000 to $12,000 installed before any deck (River Pools, April 2026).
The cheapest end of the market shows up in a federal record. When the Consumer Product Safety Commission announced the 2025 recall of about 5 million strap-style pools sold at big-box stores, it listed their retail price as approximately $400 to over $1,000 depending on size and accessories (CPSC recall 25-393). That is the kit price for a seasonal pool you set up yourself, with no leveling, deck or electrician.
| Source (date) | Tier | What it covers | Low $ | High $ | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Angi (July 2026) | 3, cost guide | Installed, typical | 1,010 | 5,967 | Body text says $1,023 to $5,840 |
| HomeGuide (June 2024) | 3, cost guide | Installed, average range | 1,600 | 7,500 | National average $4,500 |
| River Pools (April 2026) | 3, manufacturer blog | Installed, no decking | 4,000 | 12,000 | Kit $1,000 to $8,000 plus install |
| HomeGuide (June 2024) | 3, cost guide | Pool only, no labor | 800 | 4,500 | Labor adds $800 to $3,000 |
| CPSC recall 25-393 (July 2025) | 1, federal recall notice | Retail price, recalled 48 in+ pools | 400 | 1,000 | Over $1,000 for some models and accessories |
Sources: Angi (2026), HomeGuide (2024), River Pools (2026), CPSC (2025). Tier 3 = cost guide or company estimate, not an audited price. Download CSV
Above ground pool prices by size and shape
Diameter drives price, but less than you might expect at the low end: a 24 ft round kit can start near the price of an 18 ft one.
Source: Angi, How Much Does an Aboveground Pool Cost? (updated July 8, 2026). Tier 3 cost-guide estimate.. Download chart data (CSV)
Angi’s materials-only ranges start at $800 for a 12 ft round pool and reach $1,600 to $4,500 for a 30 ft round pool. The low end barely moves from 15 ft to 24 ft ($800 to $1,300), while the high end climbs from $2,100 to $2,900, which suggests wall material and brand drive the spread more than diameter. HomeGuide’s 2024 figures are close: $1,100 to $2,600 for an 18 ft round and $1,700 to $3,200 for a 24 ft round.
| Pool size | Angi 2026, materials only $ | HomeGuide 2024, materials only $ | Gallons, 48 in wall (Akron) | Gallons, 52 in wall (Akron) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 ft round | 800 to 1,600 | 800 to 1,100 | 2,975 | 3,398 |
| 15 ft round | 800 to 2,100 | 900 to 1,800 | 4,646 | 5,310 |
| 18 ft round | 1,200 to 2,700 | 1,100 to 2,600 | 7,646 | 8,602 |
| 24 ft round | 1,300 to 2,900 | 1,700 to 3,200 | 11,895 | 13,594 |
| 30 ft round | 1,600 to 4,500 | Not listed | 18,585 | 21,240 |
| 12 x 24 ft oval | 1,500 to 2,700 | 1,500 to 2,000 | 5,948 | 6,797 |
| 18 x 33 ft oval | 1,800 to 3,500 | 2,600 to 3,000 | 12,267 | 14,019 |
| 21 x 41 ft oval | 2,200 to 4,900 | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| 9 x 18 ft rectangle | 1,000 to 2,900 | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| 12 x 24 ft rectangle | 1,500 to 4,800 | 1,500 to 4,500 | Not listed | Not listed |
Sources: Angi (2026), HomeGuide (2024), gallons from the City of Akron, Ohio pool gallons table. Download CSV
The gallons columns matter for your water and chemical budget. The City of Akron’s utility table puts a 24 ft round pool with a 48 in wall at 11,895 gallons and the same pool with a 52 in wall at 13,594 gallons (City of Akron). Akron’s rule for round and oval pools is length times width times average depth times 5.9; for rectangular pools it uses 7.5, which rounds the U.S. Geological Survey’s 7.48 gallons per cubic foot (USGS). Use the calculator below with your own dimensions.
Formula source: City of Akron, Ohio, How to calculate the gallons in a swimming pool (round and oval multiplier 5.9, rectangle and free-form 7.5); USGS Water Science Glossary (7.48 gallons per cubic foot). Estimates only.

Steel, resin, aluminum or soft-sided: what the frame changes
Frame material is the second big price lever. Steel is the cheapest rigid wall and the most likely to rust; resin does not rust but can crack in hard freezes; aluminum is lighter and dearer. Soft-sided pools are a separate category: Angi prices them at $200 to $2,500 and says they are not meant to stay up year-round.
| Frame type | Angi 2026 $ | HomeGuide 2024 $ | Carlton Pools 2026 $ | Strengths and weak points named by the sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Soft-sided or inflatable | 200 to 2,500 | 100 to 800 (kits) | Not listed | DIY in an afternoon; not meant for year-round use (Angi) |
| Steel wall | 1,800 to 10,000 (metal-framed, steel or aluminum; average about 4,000) | 800 to 3,000 | 1,500 to 3,000 | Strong and low cost; can rust or corrode (HomeGuide) |
| Resin or hybrid | 1,500 to 3,700 (large up to 5,000) | 900 to 3,500 | 3,000 to 7,500 | Will not rust; can crack in hard freezes (Angi) or fade (HomeGuide) |
| Aluminum | See metal-framed | 1,000 to 4,500 | 5,000 to 20,000 or more | Lighter than steel, costs more (HomeGuide) |
Sources: Angi (2026), HomeGuide (2024), Carlton Pools (2026), a pool retailer. Ranges are materials only. Download CSV
The sources do not line up neatly. Carlton Pools, a retailer, prices aluminum pools at $5,000 to $20,000 or more, while HomeGuide’s aluminum range tops out at $4,500. Both call their figures kit or materials costs, so the gap reflects different product mixes rather than labor; Carlton’s ranges come from a store that sells pools. When you compare quotes, ask for the wall gauge, the liner thickness and the pump size in writing so you compare the same kit.
The installed budget: line items a kit price leaves out
On a typical project the extras add up to more than the pool.
| Line item | Typical cost | Source (tier 3 unless noted) | Often left out of a kit price? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pool kit (wall, liner, basic pump and filter) | $800 to $4,500 | HomeGuide 2024 | No |
| Installation labor | $1,000 to $3,000 | Angi 2026 | Yes, unless you DIY |
| Yard leveling | $1,000 to $3,400 | Angi 2026 | Yes |
| Concrete base | About $6 per sq ft | Angi 2026 | Yes |
| Upgraded pump and filter combo | $250 to $2,000 (average about $1,000) | Angi 2026 | Sometimes |
| Pool heater, installed | $1,800 to $4,200 (average about $3,000) | Angi 2026 | Yes |
| Deck, 300 to 600 sq ft | $1,000 to $5,000 | Angi 2026 | Yes |
| Deck lumber per sq ft | $25 to $50 per sq ft | HomeGuide 2024 | Yes |
| Pool fence | $1,500 to $10,000 (average about $4,000) | Angi 2026 | Yes |
| Pool permit | $100 to $300; deck permit $225 to $500 more | Angi 2026 | Yes |
| Steps or ladder | $20 to $700 | Angi 2026 | Sometimes |
| First fill, about 10,000 gallons | $19.50 to $300.36 by city, median $91.23 | PC&S research, tier 1 rate schedules | Yes |
Sources: Angi (2026), HomeGuide (2024), PC&S cost to fill a pool study (city water and sewer rates in effect October 4, 2026). Download CSV
Source: Angi, How Much Does an Aboveground Pool Cost? (updated July 8, 2026). Tier 3 cost-guide estimate.. Download chart data (CSV)
Ground prep is the item most buyers miss. Angi prices yard leveling at $1,000 to $3,400 and a concrete base at about $6 per square foot, and warns against setting a pool on a deck or other structure. A fence, where your town requires one, runs $1,500 to $10,000. Put those next to an $800 to $4,500 kit and the kit can end up less than half of the bill.

Tariffs and above ground pool prices in 2026
Above-ground pools are mostly imported, so trade policy reaches the shelf price faster than it does for a pool built on site.
Source: USITC HTS 2026 Rev. 20 and Federal Register notices, compiled in PC&S research: /research/pool-equipment-tariffs/. Download chart data (CSV)
Above-ground pools, liners and pool parts enter the US under tariff line 9506.99.55, which carries a normal duty of 5.3%. In October 2026 a Chinese-made pool paid 25.3% in total, and a pool from Vietnam or Thailand paid 17.8% (PC&S pool equipment tariffs report, from USITC HTS 2026 Rev. 20). Pools from Canada have carried an extra 50% duty since August 22, 2026, including USMCA-qualifying goods (Proclamation 11065). At the April 2025 peak, a Chinese above-ground pool faced 157.8%.
China supplied 60.4% of US imports in the trade category that includes above-ground pools in 2025, and its share fell from 63.1% in January to June 2025 to 49.0% a year later while Vietnam’s rose from 5.0% to 16.3% (UN Comtrade). Duties are paid on the import value, not the retail price, so a 25.3% duty does not mean a 25.3% higher sticker. Pool Corp, a pool equipment distributor, attributed about 1% of its 2025 product cost increase to tariffs (Pool Corp 10-K).
Permits, fences and the 48-inch wall rule
Whether you need a permit depends on depth. The 2021 International Residential Code, the model many states and cities adopt, exempts prefabricated swimming pools that are less than 24 inches deep from a building permit (IRC R105.2). San Antonio’s application exempts prefabricated pools that are entirely above ground, under 24 inches deep and not over 5,000 gallons (PC&S permit processing study). A 48 in or 52 in wall pool is past that 24 inch line, so the exemption does not apply where a city follows the model code, and wiring for the pump may need an electrical permit. Angi and HomeGuide both put the pool permit at $100 to $300.
Barrier rules can change your budget more than the permit fee. Under the model pool code, an above-ground pool wall can count as the barrier if its top is at least 48 inches above grade and the ladder or steps can be secured or removed (ISPSC 305.5). Jeffersontown, Kentucky writes the same idea into its local rule: a 4 ft fence with self-closing gates, unless the pool’s own sides are at least 4 ft and the ladder can be taken away (City of Jeffersontown). Statewide, 20 of 51 US jurisdictions require a barrier around new residential pools (PC&S pool fence laws by state). Our pool permit guide covers inspections step by step.
Recalls to check before buying a used or discounted pool
In July 2025 Bestway, Intex and Polygroup recalled about 5 million above-ground pools 48 inches and taller, sold in the US since 2002, because an external compression strap can give a child a foothold into the pool. CPSC reported nine drowning deaths. The fix is a free repair kit from the maker, not a refund (CPSC recall 25-393). Four smaller recalls for the same hazard followed between December 2025 and February 2026, covering about 19,870 more pools (PC&S pool product recalls report).
Above-ground pools accounted for 15% of reported pool or spa drowning deaths of children under 15 in 2021 to 2023 (PC&S drowning statistics, from CPSC). Emergency departments treated an estimated 1,800 injuries linked to above-ground pools and 1,700 linked to portable pools in 2024 (PC&S pool injury statistics).
What an above ground pool costs to run each year
| Cost | Typical amount | Source | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pump electricity | About $437 a year at 2,384 kWh and 18.31 cents per kWh | EIA RECS 2020 and EIA July 2026 price, PC&S calculation | 1 |
| Chemicals | Around $15 a month | Angi 2026 | 3 |
| Professional cleaning | $85 to $150 a month | Angi 2026 | 3 |
| Opening in spring | $250 to $350 | Angi 2026 | 3 |
| Closing in fall | $175 to $300 | Angi 2026 | 3 |
| Heating, if you add a heater | $100 to $600 a month | Angi 2026 | 3 |
| Liner replacement | $2,000 to $5,000 every 6 to 10 years | HomeGuide 2024 | 3 |
| Refill after draining, about 10,000 gallons | Median $91.23 across 25 cities | PC&S research from city rate schedules | 1 |
Sources: EIA RECS 2020, EIA Electric Power Monthly, Angi (2026), HomeGuide (2024), PC&S fill cost study. Download CSV
The federal Residential Energy Consumption Survey found that households running a pool pump used an average of 2,384 kWh a year for it, a figure that includes above-ground pools. At the July 2026 US average residential price of 18.31 cents per kWh, that is about $437 a year (PC&S pool pump cost study). The same study puts a single-speed in-ground pump at about $121 a month and a variable-speed pump at $37 on a 10-hour day.
Water is a smaller line. Filling about 10,000 gallons cost a median $91.23 across 25 US cities at October 2026 rates, from $19.50 in Sacramento to $300.36 in Houston, where sewer is billed on fill water (PC&S cost to fill a pool study). If you hire weekly cleaning, Angi’s $85 to $150 a month dwarfs both; see our pool service cost guide. A cover cuts heating cost 50% to 70%, according to DOE guidance summarized in our pool heating cost study.

Lifespan, resale value and property tax
HomeGuide and River Pools both give an above-ground pool 7 to 15 years, with liners replaced every 5 to 9 years (River Pools) or 6 to 10 years at $2,000 to $5,000 (HomeGuide). Angi is more generous at 10 to 20 years. Spread a $4,500 installed pool over 10 years and the structure costs about $450 a year before upkeep.
Resale value is uncertain rather than zero. Two academic studies that separated above-ground from in-ground pools found small positive effects: 6.5% in San Antonio sales from 2001 to 2002 and 3.7% over homes with no pool in Memphis sales from 2006 to 2022 (PC&S pool home value study). HomeGuide and Angi both caution that an above-ground pool may add nothing or deter some buyers.
Tax treatment often turns on permanence. New York’s assessor training material says an owner who leaves a large above-ground pool up year-round shows intent to install it permanently, which points toward real property (PC&S pool property tax study). Citizens Property Insurance in Florida treats an above-ground pool as personal property under Coverage C of its HO-3 policy, while an in-ground pool falls under Coverage A or B (PC&S hurricane rules report).
Above ground pool vs semi-inground vs inground: the price gap
| Option | Installed cost | Build time | Lifespan | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Above-ground pool | $1,600 to $7,500 | 1 to 3 days | 7 to 15 years | HomeGuide 2024 (tier 3) |
| Semi-inground pool | $7,000 to $25,000 | Not stated | Not stated | HomeGuide 2024 (tier 3) |
| Small inground or plunge pool | See our small pool and plunge pool guides | Weeks | Decades for the shell | PC&S guides |
| Full-size inground pool | $44,499 to $87,349 (average $65,909) | Weeks to months | 30 to 50 years | Angi 2026 (tier 3) |
| Inground pool, permit records | $68,000 middle city median, 2025 | Not stated | Not stated | PC&S permit study (tier 1 records) |
Sources: HomeGuide (2024), Angi in-ground pool cost (2026), PC&S permit-value study (2025). Download CSV
Angi’s low end for an in-ground pool, $44,499, is about ten times HomeGuide’s $4,500 above-ground average: Angi’s 2026 in-ground range is $44,499 to $87,349, and new in-ground pool permits in 10 US cities declared a middle median of $68,000 in 2025. If you want something permanent but smaller, compare our small inground pool cost and plunge pool cost guide pages, and see the inground pool cost guide for the full breakdown by type. Our gunite vs fiberglass vs vinyl comparison explains how each inground shell ages.
How to price an above ground pool before you buy
- Measure the flat areaMark the pool footprint plus walking room. A slope means leveling, which Angi prices at $1,000 to $3,400.
- Call the building departmentAsk whether a 48 in or 52 in wall pool needs a permit, an electrical permit and a separate fence.
- Check the recall listLook up the brand and model on CPSC before buying new old stock or a used pool.
- Price the extras firstGet numbers for the base, electrical run, deck and fence before you pick the kit.
- Get two or three written quotesAsk each installer to list wall gauge, liner thickness, pump and filter, and what happens to the dirt they remove.
- Time the purchaseUS search interest peaks in June (seasonal index 283, Google Trends 2019 to 2024); Angi suggests buying in fall or winter when installers have more room.
For help comparing installers, read how to choose a pool builder and work through the pool planning checklist. If you live in a high-water-cost city such as Houston, our Houston pool builders page lists local permit and fill-cost facts.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much should it cost to install an above ground pool?
Labor alone typically runs $1,000 to $3,000 on top of the pool (Angi, 2026), or $800 to $3,000 in HomeGuide’s estimate. With the kit included, Angi’s installed range is $1,010 to $5,967 and HomeGuide’s is $1,600 to $7,500.
What is the average cost to put in an above ground pool?
HomeGuide puts the national average at $4,500 installed (2024 data). Angi does not publish a single average but gives a typical installed range of $1,010 to $5,967 in 2026. Both exclude decks and fences.
How much does a 30 ft above ground pool cost?
Angi prices a 30 ft round pool at $1,600 to $4,500 for materials only in 2026; add $1,000 to $3,000 for professional installation. A 30 ft round pool with a 48 in wall holds about 18,585 gallons (City of Akron).
How much does a 20 foot above ground pool cost?
Neither Angi nor HomeGuide lists a 20 ft size. The nearest sizes bracket it, materials only: an 18 ft round at $1,200 to $2,700 (Angi, 2026) or $1,100 to $2,600 (HomeGuide, 2024), and a 24 ft round at $1,300 to $2,900 (Angi) or $1,700 to $3,200 (HomeGuide).
Is owning an above ground pool worth it?
It depends on how long you will use it. An installed pool around HomeGuide’s $4,500 average that lasts 10 years costs about $450 a year before upkeep, and running costs such as pump power (about $437 a year at 2026 prices, EIA) come on top. A full-size inground pool starts near $44,499 (Angi, 2026).
What is the lifespan of an above ground pool?
HomeGuide and River Pools both say 7 to 15 years; Angi says 10 to 20 years. Liners usually need replacing sooner, every 5 to 9 years according to River Pools.
How much value does an above ground pool add to your home?
Studies are few. One found a 6.5% premium in San Antonio (2001 to 2002 sales) and another 3.7% in Memphis (2006 to 2022), summarized in our pool home value study. Cost guides such as HomeGuide say most above-ground pools add little.
Can you get an inground pool for $20,000?
Rarely, if you mean a fully installed pool. Only 2 of 191 permitted inground pools under 350 sq ft in Mesa, Arizona (2023 to 2025) declared less than $20,000; see our small inground pool cost guide. HomeGuide prices semi-inground pools at $7,000 to $25,000.
Can I get an inground pool for $30,000?
Few do. In Mesa, Arizona, 14 of 191 permitted inground pools under 350 sq ft (7.3%) declared less than $30,000 in 2023 to 2025, and the middle city median on 2025 in-ground pool permits in 10 US cities was $68,000 (PC&S permit study).
What are the downsides of an above ground pool?
Shorter life (7 to 15 years per HomeGuide), uniform depth, a look some buyers dislike, and a climbable wall: CPSC recalled about 5 million strap-style pools in 2025 over child drowning risk.
Do you empty an above ground pool every year?
Usually not. HomeGuide’s winterizing steps lower the water to just below the skimmer, add winterizing chemicals and cover the pool. Angi prices a professional closing at $175 to $300.
Can I leave an above ground pool up all year?
Hard-sided pools are built to stay up and be winterized; Angi says soft-sided pools are not meant for year-round use. In New York, assessor training treats a large pool left up year-round as a sign of permanent installation, which can matter for property tax.
How much does an above ground pool cost to maintain?
Angi lists chemicals at around $15 a month, professional cleaning at $85 to $150 a month, opening at $250 to $350 and closing at $175 to $300. Pump power averages about $437 a year at July 2026 US prices (PC&S calculation from EIA data).
Sources
- Angi. How Much Does an Aboveground Pool Cost? [2026 Data]. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- HomeGuide. How Much Does an Above-ground Pool Cost?. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- River Pools. Inground vs Aboveground Pools: Costs and Comparisons. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- Carlton Pools. How Much Does An Above Ground Pool Cost?. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Recall 25-393: Bestway, Intex and Polygroup above-ground pools. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- International Code Council via UpCodes. 2021 International Residential Code R105.2. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- City of Jeffersontown, Kentucky. Swimming pool requirements FAQ. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- City of Akron, Ohio. How to calculate the gallons in a swimming pool. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- U.S. Geological Survey. Water Science Glossary. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- U.S. International Trade Commission. Harmonized Tariff Schedule 2026 Revision 20, Chapter 99. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- U.S. Energy Information Administration. Residential Energy Consumption Survey 2020, Table CE5.3b. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- U.S. Energy Information Administration. Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A. Accessed 2026-10-08.
Related pages
Get Quotes From Licensed Local Pool Pros
Tell us what you need and your ZIP code. We match you with pool companies that cover your area.