
Cocktail Pool: Size, Cost and Is It Worth It
A cocktail pool is a small lounging pool, often about 10 x 16 ft and 3 to 5 ft deep (Latham), that typically costs $15,000 to $35,000 to build (HomeGuide, 2024). It trades swim space for benches and a smaller yard footprint.
- ✓Cocktail pool cost, checkedMesa, AZ 2025 permits for pools under 350 sq ft declared a median of $44,501 (65 permits, City of Mesa data).
- ✓Water, not just priceA 10 x 16 ft pool at 3.5 ft average depth holds about 4,189 gallons (PC&S formula, USGS 7.48 gal per cu ft).
- ✓Same barrier rulesThe 2024 ISPSC still calls for a 48-inch barrier; Arizona and California require 60 inches.
What is a cocktail pool? Nine publishers' definitions side by side
A cocktail pool is a small, shallow pool built for sitting and socializing rather than swimming, usually with built-in benches and often a heater. Plungie, which sells small precast pools, says plainly that there is no industry-standard definition, so we lined up how publishers describe one.
| Publisher (date) | Length | Width | Depth | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Latham (2026) | 10 to 16 ft | 9 to 13 ft | 3 to 5 ft | Its fiberglass model is 10 x 16 ft |
| Real Simple, quoting Latham (2026) | 10 to 20 ft | 8 to 12 ft | 3 to 5 ft | Benches and styling set it apart from a plunge pool |
| Plungie (2026) | 8 to 14 ft | 6 to 10 ft | 3 to 4 ft | 100 to 200 sq ft; says there is no industry-standard definition |
| Blue Haven (2026) | 10 to 16 ft | Not stated | 3 to 4 ft | Usually heated |
| Sunset (2026) | Not stated | Roughly 12 ft | 3 to 4 ft | Feature story |
| HomeGuide size chart (2026) | 20 to 24 ft | 10 to 12 ft | 3 to 5 ft | 6,000 to 10,000 gallons |
| Leisure Pools (2024) | 10 to 20 ft | 6 to 10 ft | 3 to 5 ft | 3.5 to 5 ft in its comparison table |
| The Pool Nerd (2025) | 10 to 16 ft | 6 to 10 ft | 3 to 5 ft | Built-in benches |
| River Pools (2024) | Up to about 14 ft | Up to about 12 ft | Not stated | Max out around 12 x 14 ft |
| HomeGuide cost guide (2024) | 12 to 24 ft | 8 to 12 ft | 3 to 5 ft | 8 x 12 to 12 x 24 ft |
Sources: Latham, Real Simple, Plungie, Blue Haven, Sunset, HomeGuide, Leisure Pools, The Pool Nerd, River Pools. Accessed 2026-10-08. Download CSV
The depth is the most consistent part: every publisher that gives one lands between 3 and 5 ft, and none describes a deep end. Length is where they split. Plungie tops out at 14 ft and River Pools at about 12 x 14 ft, while HomeGuide’s 2026 size chart stretches the category to 24 ft. In practice, a pool 10 to 16 ft long, under about 12 ft wide and 3 to 4 ft deep is what most of these sources would call a cocktail pool.

Cocktail pool vs plunge pool, spool and dipping pool
| Pool type | Typical length | Typical depth | Heated | Built for | Installed cost (HomeGuide, 2024) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cocktail pool | 10 to 16 ft | 3 to 4 ft | Usually | Sitting, lounging, entertaining | $15,000 to $35,000 |
| Plunge pool | 8 to 12 ft | 5 to 7.5 ft | Rarely | Cooling off, cold plunge | $15,000 to $40,000 |
| Spool | 10 to 16 ft | 3 to 4 ft | Yes | Jets, hydrotherapy, swimming in place | $20,000 to $40,000 |
| Dipping pool | 12 to 20 ft | 2 to 3 ft | Usually | Wading, quiet soaking | Not listed |
| Swim spa | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | Swimming against a current | $20,000 to $40,000 |
Sizes, depths and heat: Blue Haven (2026); costs: HomeGuide (2024). Download CSV
Depth is the dividing line. Plungie puts cocktail pools at 3 to 4 ft for standing and sitting and plunge pools at 4 to 5 ft or more for full immersion; Blue Haven lists plunge pools at 5 to 7.5 ft and rarely heated. HomeGuide notes that adding jets and heat to a cocktail pool turns it into a spool, and many people use the three names interchangeably. A dipping pool is shallower still, 2 to 3 ft. See our plunge pool cost guide for the deeper option.
The code draws its own line. The 2024 International Swimming Pool and Spa Code (ISPSC) defines a spa as a product for immersion in temperature-controlled water circulated in a closed system and not drained and filled with each use; pools fall under Chapter 8 and permanent spas under Chapter 9. Which chapter your heated cocktail pool falls under is the building official’s call, so raise it at plan review. Our spa construction page covers built-in spas.
Cocktail pool cost in 2026: published ranges vs permit data
Permit values are declared estimates for pools under 350 sq ft, not only cocktail pools.
Source: HomeGuide, The Pool Nerd, River Pools, Leisure Pools, Plungie; City of Mesa permit data via /research/average-cost-to-build-a-pool/. Download chart data (CSV)
Published prices cluster around $25,000 but stretch far. HomeGuide put the average at $15,000 to $35,000 in 2024, with $5,000 for a do-it-yourself build at the bottom and $85,000 at the top. The Pool Nerd says most professional installs land at $22,000 to $35,000, River Pools at least $25,000 done for you and close to $50,000 at the high end, and Leisure Pools $25,000 to $50,000 or more. Plungie prices by material: vinyl liner $25,000 to $55,000, fiberglass $35,000 to $75,000, precast concrete $40,000 to $55,000 or more, and gunite $60,000 to $120,000 or more.
Permit data put a floor under the optimism. Of new pool permits in Mesa, Arizona in 2025 that stated a pool area, 65 were under 350 sq ft. Their declared values ran from $38,796 at the 25th percentile to $55,000 at the 75th, with a median of $44,501. That band includes small family pools as well as cocktail pools, and declared values are estimates rather than invoices, but it suggests a professionally built small inground pool in 2025 cost more than the low end of most cost guides. For a 10 x 10 ft pool, Angi’s 2026 average is $17,500; its average spool is $22,650.
| Item | Published cost | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Building permit | $500 to $2,000 | HomeGuide (2024); The Pool Nerd (2025) |
| Excavation | $100 to $300 per hour, or $2.50 to $15.00 per cubic yard | HomeGuide (2024) |
| Concrete slab (above-ground or precast units) | $6 to $12 per sq ft | HomeGuide (2024) |
| Plumber | $75 to $150 per hour | HomeGuide (2024) |
| Electrician | $50 to $130 per hour | HomeGuide (2024) |
| Barrier fence | $20 to $60 per linear foot | HomeGuide (2024) |
| Heat pump | $3,000 to $6,000 | Plungie (2026) |
| Labor share of total | 25% to 50% | HomeGuide (2024) |
| Professional service | $80 to $150 per month | HomeGuide (2024); The Pool Nerd (2025) |
| Chemicals per year | $400 to $900 | Plungie (2026) |
| Electricity per year | $600 to $1,500 | Plungie (2026) |
Sources: HomeGuide (2024), The Pool Nerd (2025), Plungie (2026). Download CSV
Smaller does not shrink every line. The Pool Nerd points out that pumps, filters and controls cost almost the same for a cocktail pool as for a full-size pool, and HomeGuide puts labor at 25% to 50% of the total. Our small inground pool cost guide and the permit-value study behind these Mesa figures go deeper.
Cocktail pool sizes and how much water they hold
| Size | Water surface (sq ft) | Gallons at 3.5 ft average depth | Gallons at 4 ft average depth | Who lists this size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 x 12 ft | 96 | 2,513 | 2,872 | HomeGuide (smallest cocktail size, 2024) |
| 10 x 16 ft | 160 | 4,189 | 4,787 | Latham model; Latham and Pool Nerd typical |
| 12 x 14 ft | 168 | 4,398 | 5,027 | River Pools (upper end) |
| 10 x 20 ft | 200 | 5,236 | 5,984 | HomeGuide size chart (2026); River Pools R Series |
| 12 x 24 ft | 288 | 7,540 | 8,617 | HomeGuide (largest cocktail size) |
| SwimUSA Concord kidney, 10 ft 10 in x 16 ft 2 in | Not listed | 2,940 at 3 ft 10 in (manufacturer) | SwimUSA |
PC&S calculation: length x width x depth x 7.48 gallons per cubic foot (USGS). Sizes as listed by HomeGuide, Latham, The Pool Nerd and River Pools; Concord gallons from SwimUSA. Download CSV
A 10 x 16 ft cocktail pool at 3.5 ft holds about 4,189 gallons on 31% of the surface of a 16 x 32 ft family pool. Built-in benches take some of that: SwimUSA’s Concord, a 10 ft 10 in x 16 ft 2 in kidney at 3 ft 10 in deep, lists 2,940 gallons. Use the maker’s figure when there is one, or the pool volume calculator for a custom build.
Running a cocktail pool: water, heat and upkeep
Source: NOAA TR 34 via PC&S pool evaporation study (/research/pool-evaporation-rate/); PC&S calculation. Download chart data (CSV)
| City | Pool evaporation (in/yr) | Cocktail pool 10 x 16 ft, evaporation (gal/yr) | 15 x 30 ft pool, evaporation (gal/yr) | Cost of a 10,000-gallon fill, October 2026 rates |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Las Vegas, NV | 83.6 | 8,336 | 23,444 | $48.00 |
| Phoenix, AZ | 74.8 | 7,462 | 20,988 | $90.31 |
| Dallas, TX | 53.7 | 5,360 | 15,074 | $76.63 |
| Miami, FL | 52.5 | 5,233 | 14,716 | $225.63 |
| Orlando, FL | 51.2 | 5,107 | 14,363 | $58.85 |
| Houston, TX | 47.4 | 4,728 | 13,297 | $300.36 |
Sources: NOAA TR 34 pan evaporation via PC&S evaporation study; utility rates in effect 2026-10-04 via PC&S fill cost study. PC&S calculation. Download CSV
Evaporation scales with surface, so a 160 sq ft cocktail pool loses about 36% of what a 450 sq ft pool loses in the same city. Filling one is cheap where water is cheap: a full 10,000 gallons, more than twice a 10 x 16 ft cocktail pool, cost $48.00 in Las Vegas and $300.36 in Houston at October 2026 rates. The EPA says a cover can prevent up to 95% of evaporation.
Heat is where small pools shine. The U.S. Department of Energy sizes heat pump pool heaters as surface area x temperature rise x 12 Btu per hour. For an illustrative 20 degree F rise, a 160 sq ft cocktail pool needs about 38,400 Btu per hour against 108,000 for a 15 x 30 ft pool; DOE’s standard heat pump sizes start at 75,000 Btu. DOE also says a cover saves 50% to 70% of heating cost. Plungie puts a heat pump at $3,000 to $6,000 installed. Our pool heating cost study has seasonal bills by state.
Upkeep falls but does not vanish. HomeGuide and The Pool Nerd put professional service at $80 to $150 a month, against $200 to $400 for a regular pool in The Pool Nerd’s estimate; River Pools estimates $900 to $1,600 a year. The 2024 ISPSC still requires the circulation system to turn the water over at least once every 12 hours, so the pump runs daily whatever the size.

Do cocktail pools need a fence and a permit?
Usually yes. The 2024 ISPSC barrier section covers areas with pools and spas and sets no exemption for small pools: a barrier at least 48 inches high, with a powered ASTM F1346 safety cover accepted in place of a barrier. It also calls for construction fencing from excavation until the permanent barrier is done. States set their own versions; our pool fence law study counts 20 of 51 jurisdictions with a statewide mandate, 16 with partial rules and 15 that leave it to local codes, and Arizona and California require 60 inches.
The pool itself must meet the same design rules as a big one. A cocktail pool deeper than 24 inches needs a proper means of entry and exit; benches may sit no more than 20 inches below the waterline; handholds are needed once the pool is deeper than 42 inches; and the shallowest point must be 33 inches to 4 feet deep, which a 3 to 4 ft cocktail pool meets. Our pool permit guide walks through inspections.
| Jurisdiction | Permit fees at $40,000 valuation | Permit fees at $68,000 valuation | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix, AZ | $1,236.00 | $1,587.00 | City of Phoenix Planning & Development, effective 1/20/2026 |
| Fort Worth, TX | $840.15 | $1,169.83 | City of Fort Worth, effective 10/1/2026 |
| New Orleans, LA | $320.00 | $468.00 | City of New Orleans Department of Safety & Permits, schedule accessed 2026-10-07 |
| Nashville-Davidson, TN | $245.00 | $399.00 | Metro Nashville Codes, posted December 2025 |
| Orlando, FL | $257.92 | $391.59 | City of Orlando Permitting Services, effective January 2023 |
| Orange County (unincorporated), FL | $199.58 | $314.38 | Orange County Government, Florida, effective October 2026 |
Source: official fee schedules applied by PC&S in Pool Permit Cost. Building permit and plan review only; electrical, plumbing and other trade permits are extra. Download CSV
Where the fee follows valuation, a smaller pool saves a little: in Phoenix the fees fall from $1,587.00 at $68,000 to $1,236.00 at $40,000. Where the fee is flat, as in San Diego’s per-pool charge, size does not change it. HomeGuide and The Pool Nerd both put permits at $500 to $2,000.
Is a cocktail pool worth it? A fit checklist and build steps
- You want to sit, not swim HomeGuide lists the cons plainly: no laps, no diving board or slide, and not built for large parties.
- Your yard is tight A 10 x 16 ft pool covers 160 sq ft; a 16 x 32 ft pool covers 512 sq ft before the deck and barrier.
- You plan to heat it A small surface needs a fraction of the heater output of a family pool under DOE’s sizing rule.
- Your budget starts near $25,000 Publishers center there; Mesa’s 2025 small-pool permits declared a median of $44,501.
- You still budget for a barrier Fence rules do not shrink with the pool; fencing ran $20 to $60 per linear foot in HomeGuide’s 2024 guide.
- You have access for delivery Precast and fiberglass units arrive in one piece; check the route for a truck or crane.
- Site check and designConfirm setbacks, utilities and the barrier line; choose shell, precast or custom concrete.
- PermitSubmit plans for the pool, barrier and electrical; ask whether a heated unit is reviewed as a pool or a spa.
- Excavation or padDig for an inground unit, or pour a slab for an above-ground or semi-recessed one.
- Set or build the poolCrane in a shell or precast unit, or form and spray concrete.
- Plumbing, electrical and bondingLicensed trades connect the pump, filter, heater and lights.
- Barrier and inspectionInstall the permanent barrier and pass final inspection.
- Fill and start upFill, balance the water and set the pump schedule.

Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost for a cocktail pool?
HomeGuide’s 2024 average was $15,000 to $35,000, and The Pool Nerd puts most professional installs at $22,000 to $35,000. In 2025, Mesa, AZ permits for pools under 350 sq ft declared a median of $44,501.
What is considered a cocktail pool?
A small, shallow pool for sitting and socializing, usually 10 to 16 ft long and 3 to 5 ft deep with built-in benches (Latham, 2026). There is no industry-standard definition.
Are cocktail pools worth it?
They suit small yards and people who want to sit, cool off and heat the water cheaply. They do not suit laps, diving boards, slides or big parties (HomeGuide). Barrier and permit rules still apply.
What's the difference between a plunge pool and a cocktail pool?
Depth and purpose. Cocktail pools run 3 to 4 ft deep for sitting; plunge pools run 4 to 5 ft or more (Plungie) or 5 to 7.5 ft (Blue Haven) for full immersion and are rarely heated.
What is the average size of a cocktail pool?
About 10 x 16 ft, the size Latham builds and The Pool Nerd calls standard. Published ranges run from 8 x 12 ft to 12 x 24 ft.
How deep is a cocktail pool typically?
3 to 5 ft, with most sources saying 3 to 4 ft and no deep end. Under the 2024 ISPSC the shallowest point of a pool must be 33 inches to 4 feet deep.
How much does an inground cocktail pool cost?
Publishers center around $25,000 for a professional install; Plungie lists fiberglass at $35,000 to $75,000 and gunite at $60,000 to $120,000 or more. Mesa’s 2025 permits for pools under 350 sq ft declared $38,796 to $55,000 at the middle half.
How much does a 10×10 inground pool cost?
Angi’s 2026 average for a 10 x 10 ft (100 sq ft) inground pool is $17,500.
Can I get an inground pool for $30,000?
Some cocktail pools fit: HomeGuide’s 2024 range tops out at $35,000 and Angi’s 2026 averages put a 12 x 24 ft pool at $25,200. But 75% of Mesa’s 2025 permits for pools under 350 sq ft declared $38,796 or more.
How many gallons is a cocktail pool?
About 4,189 gallons for a 10 x 16 ft pool at 3.5 ft average depth by our formula; HomeGuide’s size chart gives 6,000 to 10,000 gallons for 10 x 20 to 12 x 24 ft cocktail pools.
Does a cocktail pool need a fence?
In most places, yes. The 2024 ISPSC requires a barrier at least 48 inches high (or a powered ASTM F1346 safety cover), and Arizona and California require 60 inches. Check your local code.
Can you heat a cocktail pool?
Yes, and cheaply relative to a full pool. Under DOE’s sizing rule a 160 sq ft pool needs about 38,400 Btu per hour for a 20 degree F rise, versus 108,000 for a 15 x 30 ft pool. Covers cut heating cost 50% to 70% (DOE).
Can you swim in a cocktail pool?
Not laps. HomeGuide lists that as a con; a cocktail pool is built for standing, sitting and light water exercise.
Sources
- Latham Pool Products. What is a Cocktail Pool? Benefits, Cost & Design. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- HomeGuide. How Much Does a Cocktail Pool Cost?. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- HomeGuide. Swimming Pool Size Chart. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- Real Simple. Why Homeowners Are Choosing Cocktail Pools. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- Plungie. What Is a Cocktail Pool? Sizes, Costs & Design Ideas. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- Blue Haven Pools. Plunge pool vs. cocktail pools vs. dipping pools vs. spools. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- Leisure Pools. What Is a Cocktail Pool?. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- River Pools & Spas. What Is A Cocktail Pool? Designs, Dimensions, Cost. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- The Pool Nerd. Cocktail Pools: Cost, Sizes, Options, and Best Brands. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- Sunset. Meet the Cocktail Pool. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- Angi (Wayback capture 2026-08-17). How Much Does an In-Ground Pool Cost? [2026 Data]. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- SwimUSA Fiberglass Pools. Kidney Pool Models. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- International Code Council (via UpCodes). International Swimming Pool and Spa Code 2024, Chapters 2, 3 and 8. Accessed 2026-10-08.
- City of Mesa. Building Permits open data (dzpk-hxfb). Accessed 2026-10-03.
- NOAA National Weather Service. NOAA Technical Report NWS 34 (pan evaporation). Accessed 2026-10-04.
- U.S. Department of Energy. Heat pump swimming pool heaters (archived). Accessed 2026-10-04.
- U.S. EPA. WaterSense pool water efficiency. Accessed 2026-10-04.
- U.S. Geological Survey. Water Science Glossary. Accessed 2026-10-04.
- City of Phoenix Planning & Development. Building permit fee schedule (Phoenix, AZ). Accessed 2026-10-07.
- City of Fort Worth. Building permit fee schedule (Fort Worth, TX). Accessed 2026-10-07.
- City of New Orleans Department of Safety & Permits. Building permit fee schedule (New Orleans, LA). Accessed 2026-10-07.
- Metro Nashville Codes. Building permit fee schedule (Nashville-Davidson, TN). Accessed 2026-10-07.
- City of Orlando Permitting Services. Building permit fee schedule (Orlando, FL). Accessed 2026-10-07.
- Orange County Government, Florida. Building permit fee schedule (Orange County (unincorporated), FL). Accessed 2026-10-07.
Related pages
Get Quotes From Licensed Local Pool Pros
Tell us what you need and your ZIP code. We match you with pool companies that cover your area.